How Are We Doing it?

Through the following partnerships and initiatives, Leduc and its partners are leading the way to regional change for long-term sustainability.

Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB)

The City of Leduc is a member of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB), a provincially mandated growth management board for the 13 municipalities of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, who are committed to working together to ensure long-term economic prosperity and quality of life for all citizens in the region.

Their mandate includes:

  • Regional growth management and land-use planning
  • Coordination of regional infrastructure investment and service delivery
  • Promoting the economic well-being and competitiveness of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region

EMRB membership includes: the mayors of Beaumont, Devon, Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Leduc County, Morinville, Parkland County, Spruce Grove, Stony Plain, St. Albert, Strathcona County, Sturgeon County and a Government of Alberta representative.

Edmonton Global

Leduc is one of 15 municipalities of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region that came together in 2017 to form Edmonton Global, the first regional economic development corporation of its kind in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region.

Their mission is to collaboratively strengthen the Edmonton Metropolitan Region’s global competitiveness, growth and innovation. They will work together to ensure that the Edmonton Metropolitan Region is the location of choice for global investment, collaboratively built on regional assets.

The shareholder municipalities are: Beaumont, Bon Accord, Devon, Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Gibbons, Leduc, Leduc County, Morinville, Parkland County, Spruce Grove, Stony Plain, St. Albert, Strathcona County and Sturgeon County.

Edmonton Airport Accord

To fulfill the economic development potential of Edmonton International Airport (EIA), and the surrounding lands, four partners (Edmonton, Leduc, Leduc County and EIA) came together in 2017 to form the Edmonton Airport Accord partnership.

The work and leadership of this partnership will bring greater economic prosperity to the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, which benefits all of Alberta. It will also create efficiencies and showcase the region as a successful example of municipal collaboration. Their key deliverables will be to provide regional frameworks for land use, servicing and transportation, economic development and shared investment for shared benefit.

One shared-success of this partnership thus far is the implementation of enhanced transit connections to and around the Edmonton International Airport, as well as daily connections between City of Leduc and Leduc County to Edmonton.

Leduc Regional Leadership Forum

In 2018, the leaders in the Leduc Region identified that they needed a forum to build and maintain effective and mutually beneficial working relationships with representatives from other municipalities. They wanted to be able to regularly come together to learn from one another, share success stories, understand challenges, help and support one another and see if there are opportunities for some or all to work together to best serve the region and its citizens.

The partner municipalities include: Beaumont, Calmar, Devon, Leduc, Leduc County, Thorsby and Warburg.

Regional Transit Services Commission 

Thirteen municipalities in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region have been examining the possibility of delivering integrated transit services, through a Regional Transit Service Commission (RTSC). The initial exploration included researching the overall feasibility of an integrated-service approach aimed at  delivering efficient and affordable transit options for riders throughout the region.

An RTSC business case was created, examining the potential for:

  • convenient, cost-effective and extensive service across municipalities
  • integrated customer experience through improved community connections

The report was based on data, costing and mapping of current local transit systems provided by each of the participating municipalities.

Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Report

Based on the business case, all 13 municipal member councils voted in the first quarter of 2020 whether or not to be part of the future commission. After the voting was complete, the Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) Transition Team developed an addendum report to the Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region report. The addendum outlines updated routes and figures included in the RTSC business case. These revisions reflect the participation of 10 municipalities in the region who accepted the invitation to join the RTSC and form a regional transit service in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region. Like the original report, the document serves to demonstrate the viability of a commission in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region based on which municipalities have chosen to participate.

Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Report Addendum (June 1, 2020)

Municipalities who have chosen to join the commission will jointly sponsor a proposal to the Government of Alberta to establish the commission under Provincial Regulation. The application will include the final report and revised addendum, along with supporting documentation of capital plans and bylaws.

It is anticipated the following municipalities will be represented on the provincial application: City of Beaumont, Town of Devon, City of Edmonton, City of Fort Saskatchewan, City of Leduc, Town of Morinville, Parkland County, City of St. Albert, City of Spruce Grove and Town of Stony Plain.

If approved by the province, the new Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) is intended to begin operating by 2022. Public engagement will be a key focus of the next phase of work to be done before the commission is legally formed and begins operations in the region.


Public transportation is a critical service that warrants regional consideration. As cities and communities continue to attract more people, demand for appealing and viable public transit alternatives for commuters continues to grow.

Municipal transit system providers face changing mobility preferences and shifts to regional economies that can make planning and forecasting transit services at the local level challenging.

In addition, the following considerations are worth examining at a regional level: 

  • The number of daily transit trips in the region has increased by nearly 9,000 since 2005, while the number of automobile trips has increased by about 236,000. That is one transit trip for every 26 automobile trips.
  • Population impacts on our infrastructure and services may become more pronounced over the next 45 years. For example, the regional forecast for 2020 population is 1.5 million and by 2065, this is expected to reach three million, with two million in the City of Edmonton and one million in the surrounding region.
  • Regional employment is forecasted to grow from 767,000 to 1.5 million jobs, reinforcing the need for efficient and effective transportation to support an increasing population.

In September 2017, City of Edmonton and City of St. Albert Councils signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to begin the development of a Regional Transit Services Commission. The other 11 Edmonton Metropolitan Region communities joined in October 2018.

To begin this work, the Government of Alberta awarded the City of Edmonton and City of St. Albert a $3.7 million Community Partnership Grant, as the initial signatories, to work with the region to analyze the feasibility of a potential RTSC.

The 13 municipalities that originally signed the MOU and were included in the voting in early 2020 are: Beaumont, Devon, Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Leduc County, Morinville, Parkland County, St. Albert, Spruce Grove, Strathcona County, Stony Plain, and Sturgeon County.